top of page
  • Writer's pictureMissBunnie Bell

Drawing for ShadowWraith

I was actually asked to do this last week, but shit happened and I got distracted. (to be honest, I was pretty distracted this week as well but I powered thru it!) ShadowWraith is a cool friend of a friend. Luckily we have similar tastes in games so this was a little easier. He wanted himself drawn like Wilson from Don't Starve. I loved the idea and couldn't wait to do it. The problem was I wasn't sure how I was going to go about it. My tablet is a bit older and overheats often so I thought to myself "Ok, let's just sketch it on paper and plan things out before I hook up the old tablet" This was where I made my first mistake... I was lazy and didn't go upstairs to grab one of my sketchbooks. I just grabbed my spiral notebook. It's just a sketch who cares right?


I am SOOOOO sad. The sketch on paper looks so much better than the one I did on my pc. Oh well.


I wish I used my sketchbook. I could have scanned this puppy in and played with the thresholds til I got a funky scratch creepy outline of this bad boy. (i just love the sketchy look of Don't Starve. Very Tim Burton and yall know I love me some Tim Burton!) I know I could do it with this however, I thought it would be too messy and too much of a pain in the ass to clean up til it looked good. So I went with the lazier option of redoing all of it on the pc.


This is where the 2nd hiccup of the project happened. My Tablet's express keys WOULD NOT WORK! I was beyond annoyed! After googling and trying multiple troubleshoots, nothing worked. I took a deep breath and tried to think of anything else I could try to do. That's when I remembered that I had recently gotten a new Hard Drive to replace my C drive. So maybe the Driver just didn't like my computer.


Ya'll it took me so long! I had to uninstall the current driver, download and install an older version of the driver, restart my pc, turn on my tablet and art program, and hope it worked. I had to do this four bloody times!!!! Luckily I stuck with it and got the damn thing working. So much time and cursing later I was finally able to sit down and sketch this drawing all over again.


Does anyone else like to sketch on black with a pencil brush in bright ass colors? Is it just me? Either way, I really like sketching this way lol.


I moved the shadow beasts around just to make it look more pleasing than my first drawing. At least it was enough to push through. Whenever I do stuff like this I do a sketch, line art, then color starting with what would be on the bottom layer. (For people my bottom layer is always skin that way mistakes can be covered by the clothes lol) Just to save you the headache of scrolling through pictures of each layer I made you a little gif today!



Now, I'm not gonna lie. I am not 100% happy with this. I really want it to look more sketchy and creepy. On the other hand, I had made Shadow wait a week and a half for this. So I decided screw it. I'm going to send him this and see what he thinks. He liked it! I still wanna play with it more and see if I can make it better though. So here is the finished product (for now)


I think I want to spend some time practicing more drawing with my tablet. I also have a Samsung tablet, but I'm not sure what art programs to use on it. In all honesty, I should look to see if I can find some free art classes online to help me either get better on my pc tablet or Samsung tablet. Do you guys have any suggestions? Heck if you need some art let me know! More Practice is always good too!


Thank you ShadowWraith for giving me this Challenge.

If you guys would like to check him out He is an amazing Mini Painter and a pretty cool dude. His youtube channel is Here.


Let me know what you guys would like me to try next week. Til then Love ya'll and have an awesome week! <3



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Miss Bunnie Bell. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page