top of page
  • Writer's pictureMissBunnie Bell

Happy-ish Holidays!

I dunno about ya'll but this week has been a doozy.


That time of year has come and gone again. Time to meet up with family and friends, exchange gifts, try to remember who everyone is... That kind of stuff!

Speaking of which, Does anyone else have a hard time accepting gifts, or is it just me?

It's not that I dislike gifts, I just dunno what to say. Of course, I say thank you but I always feel like it's not enough.


Anyways after a little break, I am back to writing and doodling! This week I was inspired by my discord and my husband's display picture. For those that do not know, My husband is a huge nerd when it comes to space things. His nickname is also Fish. What did I draw this week?


FIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIISH IIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIN SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAACE!!!!


But not just any fish! How about a Magikarp and Gyrados in space? (I needed more pokemon art on the walls :P)


I started out my project by looking up pictures on the internet of the two pokemon. I wanted to make sure I got as much detail as I could. Once I had enough references I turned on a chill playlist on Spotify and started to draw on the canvas with my mechanical pencil. (sorry for the smudges. I kept erasing Gyrados's body until I was somewhat happy with it) I had this Idea of Gyrados slipping through space like a loch-ness monster. I wasn't sure how to pull that off.... but that's for later me to figure it out.



Now normally I would start adding color to the characters at this point, but I wanted to see what would happen if I blacked out the background first. I'm still unsure if I will do it like this again. Let me know what you think! I just used some black acrylic paint <3



Not gonna lie. I honestly thought this looked kinda cool on its own. I was so tempted to just paint in the black linework and see how it would look. I also know if I didn't like it and tried to add color later it would look like shit. Sooooo I just went ahead and pulled out my watercolor pencils. This is the 2nd time I have ever used Watercolor pencils... or even watercolor now that I think about it. (unless we count using watercolor as a kid. I think I tried that a few times but nothing serious)



Next, I pulled out my trusty set of Sharpies! I just love doing the lineart in sharpie. It's so much easier to use and I haven't had any issues with them as long as I wait for the canvas to dry before using them. The only thing I regret this time around is I used my medium size sharpie to outline Gyrados. If I used my fine tip I think I would have liked the end result a bit better. Oh well! Lesson learned!



What's space without some galaxy and star magic? Well, it's pretty black and cool.... but less interesting to look at. I used a mix of Pink, Green, Blue, White, and Silver Acrylic paint to fill out the empty space. I did thin out the white with a little water to make it easier to flick onto the canvas.


Welp... It's now Later me and I have to figure out how to do this. I started by grabbing my Paint pens and adding to the constellations I had made. I was unsure how to do the wormholes that Gyrados was using for his epic move, so I started playing around with my paint pens. I don't hate how it came out. I actually really enjoy the swirl of chaos I had created. The only thing I would change should I do this again is the silver and gold rays coming from the portals. They didn't come out quite as I had hoped. I dunno maybe I can paint black over them.



I have really been digging making Pokemon things. What should I try next? Eevee? Sandshrew? Gotta Make 'Em All!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

© 2022 by Miss Bunnie Bell. Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page